Kannur University

About University:

Kannur University had been established by the Act 22 of 1996 of Kerala Legislative Assembly. The University by the name "Malabar University" had come into existence earlier by the promulgation of an Ordinance by the Governor of Kerala, on 9th November 1995. The former Hon. Chief Minister of Kerala had inaugurated the University on 2nd March 1996.  The objective of the Kannur University Act 1996 is to establish in the state of Kerala a teaching, residential and affiliating University, promoting the development of higher education in Kasargod and Kannur revenue districts and the Mananthavady Taluk of Wayanad District.
Kannur University is unique in the sense that it is a multi-campus university with campuses spread over at various locations under its jurisdiction. The Act envisages that the University shall establish, maintain, manage and develop campuses at Kannur, Kasaragod, Mananthavady, Payyannur, Thalassery, Kanhangad and such other places as are necessary for providing study and research facilities to promote advanced knowledge in Science and Technology and other relevant disciplines.

Click here to visit the Kannur University site.

Click here to visit the Kannur University Website.

Kannur University

Main Gate

Image description


Department of Library and Information Science

School of Education, Department of Education
Inter University Center for Bioscience
School of Information Science & Technology, Department of Information Technology
School of English & Foreign Languages, Department of Studies in English
School of Social Sciences, Department of Anthropology
School of Science & Technology

School of Business Administration (M.B.A)
School of Life Sciences, Department of Biotechnology & Microbiology; Food Science
School of Management Studies, Department of Management Studies
School of Development Studies, Department of Applied Economics
School of Legal Studies, Department of Law
School of Physical Education and Sports Sciences, Department of Physical Education
School of Chemical Sciences, Department of Chemistry

School of Visual and Fine Arts, Department of Music
School of Pure and Applied Physics, Department of Physics

School of Health Sciences
School of Pedagogical Sciences
School of Indian Languages
School of Geography & Environment

The list of University Affiliated Colleges

Government Colleges

Arts and Science Colleges

Govt. College Thalassery,Chokli,Thalassery

E. K. Nayanar Memorial Govt. College
Govt. College, Vidya Nagar
Govt. College Mananthavady, Nallurnad
Government Brennen College, Thalassery

Krishna Menon Memorial Government Women's College
Govt. arts and science college Payyanur
Govinda Pai Memorial Govt. College

Professional Colleges
Government Ayurveda College, Pariyaram 
Government Engineering College, Wayanad

Government College of Engineering, Kannur

Training Colleges
Govt. College of Teacher Education, Thalassery

Arts and Science Colleges (Aided)

St. Pius X College, Rajapuram
Payyannur College, Payyannur.
Co-operative Arts & Science College, Madayi
Sir Syed College

Nehru Arts & Science College
S.E.S. College, Sreekandapuram
Sree Narayana College, Kannur
Nirmalagiri college, Kuthuparamba
Pazhassi Raja N. S. S. College, Mattanur

Mary Matha Arts & Science College
Mahathma Gandhi College, Iritty
N.A.M College Kallikkandy

Training Colleges (Aided)
Keyi Sahib Training College

P.K.M. College of Education

Oriental Title Colleges (Aided)
Darul Irshad Arabic College

Nusrathul Islam Arabic College

Unaided (Self Financed) Colleges

College of Applied Science, Pattuvam

Gurudev Arts & Science College
College of Applied Science, Pettikundu
College of Applied Science, Kuthuparamba

Mar Thoma College for the Hearing Impaired, Cherkala, Kasaragod
Malabar Islamic Complex Arts & Science College

Bhaskara College of Arts
Aditya Kiran College of Applied Studies
Sir Syed Institute of Technical Studies
Taliparamba Arts & Science College
Deva Matha Arts & Science College
Mary Matha Arts & Science College
Sharaf Arts & Science College
Sa-A-Diya Arts & Science College
SNDP Yogam Arts & Science College
Dr. Ambedkar Arts & Science College, Sreesailam

Wadihuda Institute of Research and Advanced Studies
Mahatma Gandhi Arts & Science College, Chendayad

M. E. S. College
I.T.M College of Arts & Science
Nalanda College of Arts & Science
Chinmaya Arts & Science College for Women
Peoples Co-Opeartive arts & Science College
Khansa Women’s College for advanced Studies
St. Joseph’s College, Pilathara

Our College of Applied Sciences
Sibga Arts & Science College

Oriental Title Colleges (un-aided)
Al-Maquar Arabic College

Ideal Arabic College

Professional Colleges (Un-Aided)
Institute of Technology, Mayyil Kannur

Lal Bahadur Shastry College of Engineering Kasargod
Sree Narayanan Guru College of Engineering & Technology Payyannur
Vimal Jyothi Engineering College Chemberi,Kannur

Don Bosco Arts & Science College, Kannur
Chinmaya Institute of Technology Chala, Kannur
Mar Thoma College of Special Education
A. W. H Al Badar Special College
Malabar Institute of technology,Anjarakkandi Integrated campus, Kannur
College of Engineering & Technology, Payyanur, Kaithapram, Mathamangalam P.O., Kannur 670 307
St. Thomas College of Engineering and Technology, Sivapuram, Mattannur,Kannur

St. Gregorious College of Engineering, Devalokam, Perla, Kasaragod
North Malabar Institute of Technology,Kanhangad,Kasaragod
Sadguru Swamy Nithyananda Institute of Technology, Kanhangad, Kasaragod
Mar Thoma College of Special Education, Badiadka, Beejanthadka, Perdala (P.O)
People Institute of Management Studies, Munnad, Kasaragod 671541
Malik Deenar Institute of Management Studies, Seethangoli,

Ayurveda Colleges (Un-Aided)
Parassinikadavu Ayurveda Medical College

Medical Colleges (Un-Aided)
Kannur Medical College

Academy of Medical Sciences, Pariyaram

Dental Colleges (Un-Aided)
Century International Institute of Dental Science and Research centre
Kannur Dental College

Pariyaram Dental College

Pharmacy colleges (un-aided)
Malik Deenar College of Pharmacy

Crescent B. Pharm College
Academy of Pharmaceutical Sciences, ACME
Rajiv Gandhi Institute of Pharmacy

Nursing Colleges (Un-Aided)
College of Nursing, A. C. M. E.
Koyili College of Nursing

Lourde College of Nursing
Century College of Nursing
Canossa College of Nursing
College of Nursing Kannur Medical College

Malik Deenar College of Nursing

Other Colleges
Co-operative Institute of health Sciences

Copyright | 2012