Kerala Agricultural University

About University:

The Kerala Agricultural University is placed in Vellanikkara, Thrissur, Kerala. The Kerala Agricultural University (KAU) is providing human resources, and skills and technology, required for the sustainable development of its agriculture, defined broadly encompassing all production activities based on land and water, including crop production, forestry and fisheries through conducting, interfacing and integrating education and research. The Kerala Agricultural University had been  introduced as a Deemed status to have come into existence on February 24th 1971 by the Act 33 of 1971 of the Kerala State Legislature, entitled 'The Agricultural University Act, 1971'. The Kerala Agricultural University (KAU) became operational since February 1st 1972. Then the existing two educational and 21 research institutions had been administered by the Departments of Agriculture and Animal Husbandry of the Government of Kerala, were brought under one umbrella for facilitating the sustainable and accelerated development of agriculture in the State.

Courses Offered through Departments


Faculty of Agriculture
*  Diploma in Agricultural Sciences
*  Diploma on Organic Agriculture
*  Post Graduate Diploma in Analytical Techniques in Soil Fertility and Crop                   Production
*  Post Graduate Diploma in Solid Waste Management

Bachelor's Degree

Faculty of Agriculture
*  B.Sc. (Hons.) Agriculture
*  B.Sc. (Hons.) Co-operation and Banking
*  B.Sc. (Hons.) Co-operation, Banking & Management
Faculty of Forestry
*  B.Sc. (Hons.) Forestry
*  Faculty of Agricultural Engineering
*  B.Tech. Agricultural Engineering
*  B.Tech. Food Engineering

Master's Degree

Faculty of Agriculture:
*  M.Sc. (Integrated) Biotechnology
*  M.Sc. (Integrated) Climate Change Adaptation
*  M.Sc. Agriculture (Agricultural Economics)
*  M.Sc. Agriculture (Agricultural Meteorology)
*  M.Sc. Agriculture (Agricultural Microbiology)
*  M.Sc. Agriculture (Agricultural Statistics)
*  M.Sc. Agriculture (Agronomy)
*  M.Sc. Agriculture (Entomology)
*  M.Sc. Agriculture (Extension)
*  M.Sc. Agriculture (Olericulture)
*  M.Sc. Agriculture (Plant Bio-technology)
*  M.Sc. Agriculture (Plant Breeding & Genetics)
*  M.Sc. Agriculture (Plant Pathology)
*  M.Sc. Agriculture (Plant Physiology)
*  M.Sc. Agriculture (Plantation Crops & Spices)
*  M.Sc. Agriculture (Pomology & Floriculture)
*  M.Sc. Agriculture (Processing Technology)
*  M.Sc. Agriculture (Seed Science & Technology)
*  M.Sc. Agriculture (Soil Science & Agricultural Chemistry)
*  M.Sc. Co-operation & Banking (Co-Operative Management)
*  M.Sc. Co-operation & Banking (Rural Banking and Finance Management)
*  M.Sc. Co-operation & Banking (Rural Marketing Management)
*  M.Sc. Home Science (FS & N)
*  MBA Agribusiness Management
Faculty of Forestry
*  M.Sc. Forestry (Forest Management and Utilization)
*  M.Sc. Forestry (Silviculture and Agroforestry)
*  M.Sc. Forestry (Tree Physiology & Breeding)
*  M.Sc. Forestry (Wild life Sciences)
*  M.Sc. Forestry (Wood Science)
*  Faculty of Agricultural Engineering
*  M.Tech. Agricultural Engineering (Agricultural Processing & Food Engineering)
*  M.Tech. Agricultural Engineering (Farm Power & Machinery)
*  M.Tech. Agricultural Engineering (Soil and Water Engineering)

Doctoral Degree

*  Ph.D. (Agricultural Economics)
*  Ph.D. (Agricultural Entomology)
*  Ph.D. (Agricultural Extension)
*  Ph.D. (Agronomy)
*  Ph.D. (Olericulture)
*  Ph.D. (Plant Bio-technology)
*  Ph.D. (Plant Breeding & Genetics)
*  Ph.D. (Plant Pathology)
*  Ph.D. (Plant Physiology)
*  Ph.D. (Plantation Crops & Spices)
*  Ph.D. (Pomology & Floriculture)
*  Ph.D. (Processing Technology)
*  Ph.D. (Rural Marketing Management)
*  Ph.D. (Soil Science & Agricultural Chemistry)
*  Ph.D. Home Science (FS & N)
Faculty of Agricultural Engineering
*  Ph.D. (Agricultural Processing & Food Engineering)
*  Ph.D. (Farm Power & Machinery)
*  Ph.D. (Soil and Water Engineering)
Faculty of Forestry
*  Ph.D. (Forest Management and Utilization)
*  Ph.D. (Silviculture and Agroforestry)
*  Ph.D. (Tree Physiology & Breeding)
*  Ph.D. (Wildlife Sciences)
*  Ph.D. (Wood Science)

Institutions under Kerala Agricultural University

Agricultural Engineering & Technology
*  College of Dairy Science & Technology, Mannuthy, Thrissur
*  Kelappaji College of Agricultural Engineering and Technology, Tavanur, Malappuram

Climate Studies
*  Academy of climate change education and research, vellanikkara, Thrissur

Forestry and Horticulture
*  College of Forestry, Vellanikkara, Thrissur
*  College of Horticulture,Vellanikkara Thrissur
*  College of Agriculture, Vellayani, Thiruvananthapuram
*  College of Agriculture, Padannakkad, Kasaragod
*  College of Forestry, KAU Campus, Thrissur
*  College of Agriculture, Pilicode, Nileswar

Veterinary and Animal Science
Delinked from KAU in 2010 to form separate University-KVASU
*  College of Veterinary & Animal Science, Mannuthy, Thrissur
*  College of Veterinary & Animal Science, Pookkotte, Wayanad
*  College of Fisheries, Panangad, Ernakulam (Kerala University of Fisheries and Ocean Studies)

*  College of Co-Operation, Banking & Management, KAU Campus, Thrissur

Research Stations
Northern Zone
*  Regional Agricultural Research Station, Pilicode, Kasaragod
*  Pepper Research Station, Panniyur, Kanhirangad, Kannur

High Range Zone
*  Regional Agricultural Research Station, Ambalavayal, Wayanad
*  Cardamom Research Station, Pampadumpara, Idukki
Central Zone
*  Regional Agricultural Research Station, Pattambi, Palakkad
*  Banana Research Station, Kannara, Thrissur
*  Agronomic Research Station, Chalakudy, Thrissur
*  Cashew Research Station, Madakkathara, Thrissur
*  Cashew Research Station, Anakkayam, Malappuram
*  Aromatic and Medicinal Plants Research Station, Odakkali, Ernakulam
*  Pineapple Research Station, Vazhakulam, Muvattupuzha, Ernakulam
*  Agricultural Research Station, Mannuthy, Thrissur
*  Plant Propagation & Nursery Management Unit, KAU Campus, Thrissur
Special Zone of Problem Areas
*  Regional Agricultural Research Station, Kumarakom, Kottayam
*  Rice Research Station, Vyttila, Kochi
*  Rice Research Station, Moncombu, Alappuzha
*  Sugarcane Res.Station, Pulikeezhu, Pathanamthitta
*  Agricultural Drainage Scheme, Karumady, Alappuzha
Onattukara Zone
*  Regional Agricultural Research Station, Kayamkulam, Alappuzha
Southern Zone
*  Regional Agricultural Research Station, Vellayani, Thiruvananthapuram
*  Cropping Systems Research Centre, Karamana, Thiruvananthapuram
*  Coconut Research Station, Balaramapuram, Thiruvananthapuram
*  Farming Systems Research Station, Sadananthapuram, Kottarakkara, Kollam
*  Soil Conservation Research Centre, Konni, Pathanamthitta

Training & Extension Centres
*  Communication Centre, Mannuthy, Thrissur
*  Central Training Institute, Mannuthy, Thrissur
*  Agricultural Technology Information Centre, Mannuthy, Thrissur
*  Information and Sales Centre, Mannuthy, Thrissur
*  Krishi Vigyan Kendra, Sadananthapuram, Kollam
*  Krishi Vigyan Kendra, Pattambi, Palakkad
*  Krishi Vigyan Kendra, Ambalavayal, Wayanad
*  Krishi Vigyan Kendra, KAU Campus, Thrissur
*  Krishi Vigyan Kendra, Kumarakom, Kottayam
*  Krishi Vigyan Kendra Kannur (Conducted and hosted first Farmers' Science Congress). The Kendra has a subsurface dyke in its farm as part of the rainwater harvesting demonstration unit. The kendra has pioneered a new branch of agricultural extension called Creative Extension
*  Krishi Vigyan Kendra Malappuram, Tavanur, Malappuram

Research Centres
Delinked from KAU in 2010 to form separate University-KVASU
*  Livestock Research Cetre, Thiruvazhamkunnu

Copyright | 2012